Erling Haaland won the 2023 Gerd Muller Trophy 

Erling Haaland won the 2023 Gerd Muller Trophy 
Erling Haaland won the 2023 Gerd Muller Trophy 

During the Ballon d’Or event, Erling Haaland was given the 2023 Gerd Muller Trophy in recognition of his outstanding rookie season with Manchester City.

In the 2022–2023 Premier League season, the Norwegian striker scored an incredible 36 goals, helping his team win the FA Cup, the Champions League, and the top flight. 52 strikes at the end of the campaign across all competitions.

In its two prior incarnations, in 2021 and 2022, Robert Lewandowski was named Striker of the Year. Goals scored for national teams are also included in the trophy.

When Haaland joined City, everything changed. He was instrumental in helping Pep Guardiola’s team defeat Arsenal to take the top spot in the English standings, and his amazing goal-scoring ability put City heavy favourites for the Premier League title.

The 23-year-old is also expected to be Lionel Messi’s main rival for the Ballon d’Or trophy.

Harry Kane placed third, and Kylian Mbappe placed second.

Previous articleAitana Bonmati won the 2023 Ballon d’Or Feminin
Next articleNottingham Forest Will Recover From Its Loss to Liverpool, Says Aina